8 Benefits to Being Pregnant

8 Reasons I Loved Being Pregnant

The more I teach about pregnancy and childbirth, the more I think about how much I loved pregnancy (minus the nausea for the first 16 weeks). Pregnancy can be a love it or hate it time in a woman’s life. It is a time of many changes – physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Here are some reasons I loved being pregnant:

BELLY

There is something so beautiful about a pregnant woman’s belly. So much so, that complete strangers feel compelled to comment on it; and many pregnant women don’t even mind (at least in the beginning, it can get old after a while). I loved having a pregnant belly. Plus, you don’t have to worry about sucking in your stomach after you eat!

BABY KICKS

 I was almost 22 weeks pregnant before I felt my son’s first kicks – It felt like popcorn popping. It’s a pretty amazing experience. As the mother, I got this introduction and connection to my child before anyone else. Every now and then I still touch my belly and reminisce the belly days.

MATERNITY UNDERWEAR

I avoided maternity underwear for quite a while; I didn’t understand the need. Eventually, though, relaxin kicked in, my pelvis and hips widened, and regular panties were just uncomfortable. Maternity underwear are great; they are soft, cute, and actually cover your butt – So much more comfortable!

MATERNITY CLOTHING

Like maternity panties, maternity clothes are just comfortable! Everything is so soft and stretchy. It was over a year postpartum before I was willing to give them up! There are also so many cute options!

Baby Shower with Some of the Women in My Family

Me at my family baby shower.

PEOPLE HONOR YOU

People, in general, are just nicer and more concerned about your well-being when you are pregnant. Being a nurse is a physically demanding job. I had people offering to push beds, giving me their chair, and trying to protect me from getting kicked by patients (part of the territory for pediatric nurses). People tend to not make these offers when you are just your normal self without child. Most of the time I did not take them up on these offers, but it felt great that they cared.

Your friends and family also throw you parties! Granted most of the presents were for my little one, but I still felt special. I was honored with three baby showers from family, co-workers, and church members.

Once the baby is born, this changes pretty fast.

HAPPY HORMONES

I was a happy pregnant woman. The pregnancy hormones gave me patience, compassion, and a love for everyone. Luckily, I’m still breastfeeding, so I still have some of these calming hormones left, just not as intense.

FOCUSED ON MYSELF

Because I was growing another human, I felt like I was allowed to listen to my body, slow down, and focus on my needs more than normal. I took a childbirth class, Dancing for Birth, massages, acupressure treatments, chiropractic adjustments, and also napped when I felt tired.

FOUND COMMUNITY

As I was preparing for my birth, I also met positive and supportive women that I still keep in contact with today. It’s important to find support in your community. Birth, and then caring for a newborn, was a huge transition. Being around others with similar experiences helped normalize what I was going through and keep my sanity, which can be hard when you are sleep deprived! Having a support system can also decrease feelings of isolation.

These are just some of the reasons I loved being pregnant; what are yours? Comment below!

I am a doula and teach childbirth classes in the Lafayette, LA area. For more information about me and my services visit M.Y. Birth & Baby, or contact me today!

Leave a Reply

